The Runaway Excerpt — Boomer Lit Friday!

1 Mar

Image

I believe that being part of a couple means fulfilling one another’s needs. I felt I was doing all the giving, but got no nurturing or understanding in return. I had made my choice and never expected pity; my life wasn’t terrible. Still, all I ever wanted was to be with someone who wanted to share the same interests, like reading, cooking, travel or just spending a lazy afternoon together.  Is that too much to ask for?

I‘m not sure I can ever have that relationship at this point in my life. I don’t want to be hurt or disappointed again. I’m not leaving here in search of another man—I’m leaving to find myself. I can be happy without the entanglements of a man. This is my time. This is my adventure into the unknown. So here I am leaving the security that I had ever known, for what? For many years I’ve felt a strange beckoning. I wasn’t sure what it was exactly, but the feeling has grown so strong that I can no longer ignore it

9 Responses to “The Runaway Excerpt — Boomer Lit Friday!”

  1. BoomerLit (@BoomerLit) March 1, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    I enjoyed this snippet, thanks Augusta! This is a snippet provided in the context of the blog hop organized by The Boomer Lit Friday website: to get more snippets from Boomer lit authors – a new genre pulling together remarkable authors with experience and talent, a guarantee for good reads – you can go here: http://boomerlitfriday.blogspot.it/ and click on the blog links provided. They will take you to more Boomer lit good reads!

    Happy reading!

  2. Shelley Lieber March 1, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Have you been reading my old journals?? So real. Well done.

    • augustawright March 1, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Shelley, I am so glad you enjoyed the excerpt. The baby boomer women put their lives on hold to marry, raise children AND work! It’s our time to live our lives to the fullest!

      What are you doing to fulfill your dreams?

    • augustawright March 1, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

      Shelly, we all have secret desires and unfilled dreams. I hope to become a better writer by causing readers to look to see if their dreams have been realized. We never stop learning.

  3. Mutinous Boomer March 1, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Beautifully written and the feelings rang so true. Nicely done and I look forward to reading more next week!

  4. Michael Murphy March 1, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Loved the writing and the characters. Could hang around with them for a few hundred pages.

    • augustawright March 1, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Michael,
      Thank you for your encouraging words.
      Augusta Wright

  5. laurieboris March 1, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    I very much enjoyed this, thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

